World Social Science Association

Scholarship, Service, Collegiality

Translate Website

Executive Council 2022-2023


Karen Jarratt-Snider

Elected Office

Karen Jarratt-Snider, Ph.D.


Department of Applied Indigenous Studies

Northern Arizona University

P.O. Box 15020

Flagstaff, AZ 86011

Immediate Past President

William Schaniel

Elected Office

William Schaniel, Ph.D.

University of West Georgia (retired)

Global Scholastic Services

126 Point Rd.

Whitesburg, GA 30185


Elected Office

Ruth Whisler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Social Work

Northern Arizona University - Yuma Branch Campus

PO Box 6236, Yuma, AZ 85366

Phone:  928-373-8880


Vice-President / Secretary

Tonia Warnecke

Elected Office

Tonia Warnecke, Ph.D.

Cornell Chair & Professor of Social Entrepreneurship

Rollins College

1000 Holt Avenue, Box 2781

Winter Park, FL 32789

WSSA Council Members

Council Member Through 2027

Ejiro U. Osiobe

Elected Office

Dr. Ejiro U. Osiobe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Economics, Data Analytics, & Entrepreneur

Department of Business and Economics

Baker University

Council Member Through 2027

Lily Zeng

Elected Office

Lily Zeng, Ph.D.


Graduate Coordinator

School of Media and Journalism

Arkansas State University

Council Member Through 2027

Monica S. Gallamore

Elected Office

Monica S. Gallamore, Ph.D.

Mellon/ACLS Fellow, 2022


Collin College - Preston Ridge

Council Member Through 2026

Pierre M. Atlas, Ph.D.

Elected Office

Pierre M. Atlas, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Paul H. O'Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Indiana University Indianapolis

801 W. Michigan Street

BS 4050

Indianapolis, IN 46202

Council Member Through 2026

Fernando Viacava Breiding

Elected Office

Fernando Viacava Breiding

Tecnológico Nacional de México, Campus Morelia



Council Member Through 2026

Pete Martini

Elected Office

Pete Martini, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology

Nevada State University

1300 Nevada State Drive

Kasner Academic Building 119

Henderson, NV 89002

Council Member Through 2025

Barbara Bonnekessen

Elected Office

Barbara Bonnekessen, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Eastern Illinois University

600 Lincoln Avenue

Charleston, IL 61920-3099

Council Member Through 2025

Michèle Companion

Elected Office

Michèle Companion, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology

University of Colorado - Colorado Springs

1420 Austin Bluffs Parkway

Colorado Springs, CO 80918

Phone: 719-255-4141

Council Member Through 2025

Aresta Tsosie-Paddock

Elected Office

Aresta Tsosie-Paddock, Ph.D.

University of Arizona

Ex-Officio Council Members

Executive Director

Larry Gould

Larry A. Gould, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Northern Arizona University

2307 Chof Trail

Flagstaff, AZ 86005

Contact For:

  • All WSSA business matters
  • All WSSA legal matters
  • All WSSA election matters
  • Proposals to add or delete WSSA sections

Journal Administrative Support

Kate Herke

Kate Herke, B.Sc.

La. Ofc.Student Financial Assist. (ret.)

c/o Western Social Science Assoc.

7350 Jefferson Hwy.

Suite 485-158

Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Book Review Editor, Social Science Journal

Jonathan Westover

Jonathan Westover, Ph.D., MPA, SFHEA

Utah Valley University

Professor and Chair, Organizational Leadership

Academic Director, Center for Social Impact

Editor, Social Science Journal

Rick Wheelock, Ph.D.

Association Archivist

Nina Burkardt

Nina Burkardt, Ph.D.

Midcontinent Ecological Science Center

United States Geological Survey (retired)

4512 McMurry Avenue

Fort Collins, CO 80525

Office: (970) 226-9275

Conference Manager / Membership Manager

Tom Stark

Thomas Stark, B.Sc.

Owner, One Stone Web

1955 E. Grovers Ave. #22

Phoenix, AZ 85022

Cell: (815) 213-2479

Web Presence Manager

Gary Holden

Gary Holden

Marketing, One Stone Web

Cell: (619) 889-6885